MAINGAU Energie - more than just electricity

A man with a smartphone in his hand leans against an electric car.

A Meta-Portal for MAINGAU Energie.

We developed a new website with an intuitive meta portal for energy service provider MAINGAU Energie. From frontend to backend, including account and identity management, everything was rebuilt from scratch using innovative methods. The new visual design has been derived from the MAINGAU Energie brand values ​​and precisely reflects the identity as an innovative and flexible service provider.

Concept UX Design Visual Design DXP Development Operate
Challenge

Compelling Look and Feel for complex Services

The challenge of the project was to transfer the various complex services, accounts, and logins into a uniform system to simplify account management for customers and make their experience seamless. The project's aim was a new, elegant, uniform Look & Feel and a customer experience that leaves nothing to be desired.

Approach

Workshops, sprint sessions and more

Our team worked agile, in constant close coordination both internally, interdisciplinary, and across locations as well as externally with the customer. Workshops, project management syncs, and sprint dates resulted in four main influences for our solution: New digital design language, Headless CMS, Serverless hosting, Identity & Account Management.
When drafting the service design, we first carried out ideation, roadmap workshops, and detailed competitor analysis. Based on this, we defined the design system and iteratively developed an MVP. The end product is state-of-the-art and tailored to the user.

Content Management System

Headless CMS?

"Headless" means that the "head" (the front end, i.e., the website) is separate from the "body" (the back end). A headless CMS has an interface for managing content and uses an API that makes content available exactly where needed. Dynamic content can thus be effectively published on different platforms, devices, and technologies, as well as iOS apps and Android apps. With increased flexibility and scalability, a headless CMS was the perfect solution for MAINGAU Energie to display and manage complex and individual content in an elegant and modern way. The tool of choice for MAINGAU Energie's scope was Scrivito by Just Relate.

Cloud Applications

Serverless hosting?

Serverless means developers can build and run applications in the cloud without having to manage servers. The cloud provider takes over the routine work of the server infrastructure. Serverless apps react flexibly to demand and automatically scale up and down as needed. In addition, a serverless application costs nothing when it is idle. Because this technology is very secure but also scalable and resilient, it is particularly well suited for a service provider that offers services and products in various areas throughout Europe.

Amazon Cognito

Identity and Account Management with AWS

We worked with Amazon Cognito in this case and loved how quick and easy it was to add user sign-in and access control. This system can be scaled to millions of users. Login is supported with multi-factor authentication, encrypting data at rest and in transit. (It provides secure identity storage and is HIPAA-enabled, PCI DSS, SOC, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, and ISO 9001 compliant.) This enabled us to combine the previously necessary multiple accounts of the individual users into one account.

Outcome

Excellent Customer Experience as a guarantuee of success

The customer experience has improved significantly, thanks to our innovative and collaborative way of working. Because instead of using a separate login with a different password for each MAINGAU Energie service, customers now only log in with their e-mail address and a general password. Customers can access all contracts and services with just one login. The finished meta portal is not only secure but also flexible, easily scalable, and content can be iteratively tailored to the customer. We appreciated the constant dialogue with MAINGAU Energie and are very proud of the end product.kt.

About the client

MAINGAU Energie

MAINGAU Energie has the mentality of a start-up but also more than 110 years of experience in the energy business. Initially founded in 1907 as the Obertshausen Gas Supply Association (GVVO), MAINGAU Energie has continued to develop to this day. Customers are offered more than "just" gas and electricity. There is the MAINGAU Energie shop, car power, DSL and telephone, mobile communications, regional car-sharing, and the expansion of charging infrastructure. The brand values are "simple, competent, and inexpensive," similarly, the approximately 200 employees take care of around half a million customers quickly, competently, and unbureaucratically.

Weitere Case Studies

In order to give you a better service Ergosign uses cookies. Please agree to our use of cookies. I Disagree I Agree

MAINGAU Energie - mehr als nur Energie

Ein Mann mit Smartphone in der Hand lehnt an einem Elektroauto.

Maingau mit eigenem Meta-Portal.

Für den Energiedienstleister MAINGAU Energie haben wir einen neuen Internetauftritt mit intuitivem Meta-Portal entwickelt. Von Frontend zu Backend, inklusive Account-, und Identity Management wurde mit innovativen Methoden alles von Grund auf neu aufgebaut. Das neue Visual Design wurde von den Markenwerten von MAINGAU Energie abgeleitet und spiegelt dabei ganz genau die Identität als innovativer und flexibler Dienstleister wieder.

Concept UX Design Visual Design DXP Development Operate
Challenge

Komplexe Services im einheitlichen Look und Feel

Die Herausforderung des Projekts bestand darin, die verschiedenen komplexen Services, Accounts und Log-ins in ein einheitliches System zu überführen, um somit das Account Management für die Kund:innen zu vereinfachen und deren Experience nahtlos zu gestalten. Ziel des Projektes war ein neues, elegantes, einheitliches Look und Feel sowie eine Customer Experience, die keine Wünsche offen lässt.

Approach

Workshops, Sprinttermine und mehr

Unser Team arbeitete agil, in stetiger enger Abstimmung sowohl intern, interdisziplinär und standortübergreifend als auch extern mit dem Kunden. Workshops, Project Management Syncs und Sprinttermine führten zu vier Haupteinflüssen für unsere Lösung: Neue digitale Designsprache, Headless CMS, Serverless Hosting, Identity and Account Management.
Beim Entwurf des Servicedesigns haben wir zunächst Ideation und Roadmap Workshops sowie eine ausführliche Competitor- Analyse durchgeführt. Darauf aufbauend haben wir das Design System definiert und ein MVP iterativ entwickelt. Das Endprodukt ist State-of-the-Art und auf die User genau abgestimmt.

Content Management System

Kopfloses CMS?

„Headless“ bedeutet, dass der „Kopf“ das Frontend, also die Website vom „Body“ dem Backend, abgetrennt wird. Ein Headless CMS hat ein Interface zum Verwalten von Inhalten und nutzt eine API, die Content genau dort zur Verfügung stellt, wo er benötigt wird. Dynamische Inhalte können so effektiv auf verschiedenen Plattformen, Geräten, Technologien sowie iOS Apps und Android Apps veröffentlicht werden. Mit erhöhter Flexibilität und Skalierbarkeit war ein Headless CMS im Fall von MAINGAU Energie die perfekte Lösung, um komplexe und individuelle Inhalte elegant und modern darzustellen und zu verwalten. Das Tool der Wahl für den Anwendungsumfang von MAINGAU Energie war Scrivito von Just Relate.

Anwednungen in der Cloud

Hosting ohne Server?

Serverless bedeutet, dass Entwickler:innen Anwendungen in der Cloud erstellen und ausführen können, ohne Server verwalten zu müssen. Der Cloud-Anbieter übernimmt die Routinearbeit der Serverinfrastruktur. Serverlose Apps reagieren flexibel auf die Nachfrage und skalieren bedarfsweise automatisch nach oben und unten, zusätzlich kostet eine serverlose Applikation nichts, wenn sie Leerlauf hat. Weil diese Technologie sehr sicher, aber auch skalierbar und belastbar ist, eignet sie sich besonders gut für einen Dienstleister wie die MAINGAU Energie, der europaweit Services und Produkte in verschiedenen Bereichen anbietet.

Amazon Cognito

Identity und Account Management mit AWS

Wir haben in diesem Fall mit Amazon Cognito gearbeitet und waren begeistert, wie schnell und einfach es war, die Benutzeranmeldung und Zugriffskontrolle hinzuzufügen. Dieses System lässt sich auf Millionen von Benutzer:innen skalieren. Die Anmeldung wird mit Multi-Faktor-Authentifizierung unterstützt und verschlüsselt dabei ruhende und übertragene Daten. Es bietet einen sicheren Identitätsspeicher und ist HIPAA-fähig sowie konform mit PCI DSS, SOC, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018 und ISO 9001. Somit konnten wir die vorher notwendigen Mehrfachaccounts der individuellen User zu jeweils einem Account kombinieren.

Ergebnis

Exzellente Customer Experience als Erfolgsgarant

Die Customer Experience hat sich durch unsere innovative und kollaborative Arbeitsweise wesentlich verbessert. Denn statt für jeden Service von MAINGAU Energie einen eigenen Login mit separatem Passwort zu nutzen, melden sich die Kund:innen nun nur noch mit ihrer E-Mail-Adresse und einem übergreifenden Passwort an. Die Kund:innen können mit nur einem Login auf alle Verträge und Services zugreifen. Das fertige Portal ist nicht nur sicher, sondern auch flexibel, einfach skalierbar und Content kann iterativ auf die Kund:innen zugeschnitten werden. Wir haben den ständigen Dialog mit MAINGAU Energie sehr geschätzt und sind sehr stolz auf das Endprodukt.

About the client

MAINGAU Energie

MAINGAU Energie hat die Mentalität eines Start-ups, aber auch mehr als 110 Jahre Erfahrung im Energiegeschäft. Ursprünglich 1907 als Gasversorgungsverband Obertshausen GVVO gegründet, hat sich die MAINGAU Energie bis heute stetig weiterentwickelt. Den Kund:innen wird mehr als "nur" Gas und Strom angeboten. Es gibt den MAINGAU Shop, Autostrom, DSL und Telefon, Mobilfunk sowie regionales Car Sharing und den Ausbau von Ladeinfrastruktur. Die Markenwerte sind „einfach, kompetent und günstig“ - und so kümmern sich die rund 200 Mitarbeitenden schnell, kompetent und unbürokratisch um die Belange von rund einer halben Million Kunden.

Weitere Case Studies

Ergosign verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen den bestmöglichen Service zu gewährleisten. Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Cookie-Nutzung zu. Ich stimme nicht zu Ich stimme zu.