A New Star Is Born: Storybook Add-On
Philipp Schardt Alina Funk

A New Star Is Born: Storybook Add-On

Philipp Schardt
Senior UX Software Engineer, Technology Expert Web

Alina Funk Communication Manager

19.01.2022 • 9 Minuten Lesezeit

In the land of web development, there are countless ways to build user interfaces. With lots of frameworks and libraries containing every feature possible. But they all have one thing in common - they build on components. The best-known frameworks are React, Angular and Vue. These are used in the majority of projects, even at Ergosign.

A user interface must work without error while being visually appealing and intuitive to use. A challenge that design and development must solve together. The design must be developed consistently throughout the application.
In web development, this is best achieved by using UI components. So that each component is used “cleanly”, the focus is primarily on the properties of encapsulation regarding individual functions and simplified testing. Alongside functional unit tests, manual design reviews, mobile responsiveness tests and accessibility (a11y) tests are also required. In Storybook, we have found an open source tool that lets us build UI components more quickly and efficiently than ever before - thanks to our very own add-on.

Storybook: fairytale UI components

No, we’re not telling tall tales. If you’ve never heard of Storybook, you can read the following description on the website:

„Storybook is an open source tool for building UI components and pages in isolation. It streamlines UI development, testing, and documentation.“

We have to agree. Storybook offers plenty of benefits for us, such as:

A wish come true for easier, more efficient development and better quality assurance with Storybook. Why are we so enamored, and how did we come up with the idea for our Storybook add-on? To answer that, we have to look to the past. How did we build UI components before?

Once upon a time, there was... UX Library

Before using Storybook, we worked with a similar tool that we had developed ourselves. UX Library offered an overview of all project components in an isolated environment.

Here, all components can be seen in their various versions and pseudo-states (such as hover, active, focus). So Design and Development can see all the necessary information at a glance. But UX Library has some limitations compared to Storybook.
Not all frameworks used at Ergosign were supported. Maintaining the library and regularly updating the relevant frameworks was very time-consuming. Edge cases, so stories with complex examples, were difficult to create. When styling pseudo-states, these had to be manually added to prevent artefacts in the build-output.

A quest to technical lands

Storybook offers good solutions for the problems encountered when using UX Library. But there is no opportunity to display the various pseudo-states and characteristics at the same time.
You have to click a button to see these in their active state. The only way to force the element into styling the pseudo-state is to define and apply it normally.
This requires two steps:

Step 1: Define a normal CSS class that describes the same appearance as the pseudo-state.
Step 2: Apply the class to the element, i.e. it must be added to the relevant class attribute.

Step 1 in more detail: Automatic generation of pseudo-styling

Thankfully, a plug-in for PostCSS („A tool for transforming CSS with JavaScript“) has already been developed that allows the automatic generation of CSS classes from the pseudo-state styling in CSS files. It can also be found as an open sourceproject on Github and furnished with additional functions by using pull requests. We also offer additional presets that automatically adjust the configuration with Storybook and Webpack. These integrate and configure the plugin in the PostCSS loader. The other classes are only created in Storybook and the final build output in live systems is spared from unwanted artefacts.

Step 2 in more detail: Applying pseudo-styling

In the next step, the various states have to be displayed. In the story, you define which pseudo-states should be shown. In addition, further attributes and/or framework-specific properties can be filled with values that are also applied to the relevant components (code example of story definition).
The component is rendered multiple times in Storybook Canvas and the relevant generated pseudo-state class is used.

The idea for an add-on is born

Our Storybook add-on closes this gap. Both steps are automated by the add-on. All pseudo-state styling for the component is automatically translated into real CSS classes, and the story definition lets you easily define which states are even presented. A real improvement!

An insight to the add-on:

Shared with the community

At Ergosign, we have one Friday a month to tackle a (UX) topic of our choice - this is called Focus Time. The add-on was one of these. The required features were implemented with an additional time budget. And it was a success! The add-on is available as an open source version on Github and supports React, Vue and Angular frameworks as well as Plain HTML. More features were added in the beta phase, like permamutation - combining various pseudo-states and custom attributes.

The community seems impressed and has been generous with their stars. Our Storybook add-on has now been used in countless projects.
The conclusion is always: very valuable for web development work. The development process has been simplified and sped up, and many cases are covered. One of the greatest benefits is the efficient collaboration between design and development teams in manual design reviews.

We will continue to develop the add-on as an open source tool. All issues (error notifications) are logged and processed in our ticket system. Thanks to the community, we have support not only from lots of Ergosign colleagues but also externally.

...and when you open Storybook, you can use the add-on happily ever after. 😉

Headers image source: Unsplash

Let's shape the future together! Meet us in our offices or virtually for an inspiring talk.

Get in touch

In order to give you a better service Ergosign uses cookies. Please agree to our use of cookies. I Disagree I Agree

A New Star Is Born: Storybook Add-On
Philipp Schardt Alina Funk

A New Star Is Born: Storybook Add-On

Philipp Schardt
Senior UX Software Engineer, Technology Expert Web

Alina Funk Communication Manager

19.01.2022 • 9 Minuten Lesezeit

In der Welt des Web Development gibt es unzählige Wege, User Interfaces zu bauen. Mit vielen Frameworks und Libraries, die alle möglichen Features bereithalten. Jedoch haben alle eins gemeinsam - sie bauen auf Komponenten auf. Die bekanntesten Frameworks sind React, Angular und Vue. Auch bei Ergosign sind diese in einem Großteil der Projekte im Einsatz.

Ein User Interface muss fehlerfrei funktionieren, visuell ansprechend und intuitiv in der Bedienung sein. Eine Aufgabe, die Design und Development gemeinsam lösen müssen. Denn das Design muss konsistent über die Anwendung hinweg entwickelt werden.
Im Web Development gelingt das am besten durch die Verwendung von UI-Komponenten. Damit jede Komponente „sauber“ wiederverwendbar ist, liegt das Augenmerk primär auf der Eigenschaft der Kapselung in einzelnen Funktionen und dem vereinfachten Testing. Neben funktionalen Unit Tests sind manuelle Design Reviews, Mobile Responsiveness- Tests und Accessibility (a11y) Tests nötig. Mit Storybook haben wir ein Open Source Tool gefunden, das uns schneller und effizienter als je zuvor UI-Komponenten bauen lässt – dank unserem selbst entwickelten Add-On.

Storybook: UI Komponenten wie aus dem Bilderbuch

Nein, wir erzählen hier keine Märchen. Wer noch nicht von Storybook gehört hat, liest auf der Website folgende Beschreibung:

„Storybook is an open source tool for building UI components and pages in isolation. It streamlines UI development, testing, and documentation.“

Dem können wir nur zustimmen. Storybook bietet uns viele Vorteile, wie:

Wahrlich märchenhaft für eine leichtere, effizientere und qualitätssichernde Entwicklung mit Storybook. Warum wir so am Schwärmen sind und wie uns die Idee für unser Storybook Add-On kam? Dafür müssen wir einen Blick in die Vergangenheit werfen. Wie haben wir davor eigentlich UI-Komponenten gebaut?

Es war einmal... die UX Library

Vor der Nutzung von Storybook arbeiteten wir mit einem ähnlichen, selbst entwickelten Tool. Die UX Library bot eine Übersicht aller Komponenten eines Projektes in isolierter Umgebung an.

Hier sind alle Komponenten in den verschiedensten Ausprägungen sowie in den jeweiligen Pseudo-States (wie hover, active, focus) zu sehen. So haben Design und Development auf einen Blick alle nötigen Informationen. Jedoch hat die UX Library einige Limitationen gegenüber Storybook.
Es wurden nicht alle bei Ergosign verwendeten Frameworks unterstützt. Die Pflege der Library und regelmäßige Updates der jeweiligen Frameworks war sehr zeitaufwändig. Außerdem konnten Edge Cases, also Stories mit komplexen Beispielen, nur schwer angelegt werden. Beim Styling der Pseudo-States mussten diese manuell hinzugefügt werden, sodass Artefakte im Build Output zurückblieben.

Ein Ausflug zu den technischen Gefilden

Storybook bietet für die Probleme in der UX Library gute Lösungsansätze. Allerdings gibt es keine Möglichkeit, die verschiedenen Pseudo-States und Ausprägungen gleichzeitig anzuzeigen.
Sprich, ein Button muss beispielsweise geklickt werden, um diesen im Active State zu sehen. Die einzige Möglichkeit, das Element doch noch in das Styling des Pseudo-States zu zwingen, ist es, das Aussehen ganz normal zu definieren und anzuwenden.
Dafür sind zwei Schritte notwendig:

Schritt 1: Eine normale CSS-Klasse definieren, die das gleiche Aussehen beschreibt wie der Pseudo-State selbst.
Schritt 2: Die Klasse auf das Element anwenden, d. h. es muss dem entsprechenden Klassenattribut hinzugefügt werden.

Schritt 1 im Detail: Automatische Generierung des Pseudo-Stylings

Dankenswerterweise wurde bereits ein Plugin für PostCSS („A tool for transforming CSS with JavaScript“) entwickelt, das es erlaubt, automatisiert CSS-Klassen aus den definierten Pseudo-States-Stylings in CSS-Dateien zu generieren. Es ist ebenfalls als Open Source-Projekt auf Github zu finden und wurde von uns über Pull Requests mit weiteren Funktionalitäten ausgestattet. Wir bieten zusätzlich Presets an, die eine automatische Anpassung der Konfiguration mit Storybook und Webpack vornehmen. Diese integrieren und konfigurieren das Plugin in den PostCSS-Loader. Damit werden die weiteren Klassen auch nur in Storybook erzeugt und der letztendliche Build Output in Live-Systemen bleibt von den unliebsamen Artefakten verschont.

Schritt 2 im Detail: Anwendung des Pseudo-Stylings

Im nächsten Schritt müssen die verschiedenen States angezeigt werden. Dazu wird in der Story definiert, welche Pseudo States abgebildet werden sollen. Zusätzlich können weitere Attribute bzw. Framework-spezifische Properties mit Werten gefüllt werden, die auch auf die jeweilige Komponente angewendet werden (Code-Beispiel von Story Definition).
Die Komponente wird daraufhin in der Storybook Canvas mehrmals gerendert und die entsprechend generierte Pseudo-State-Klasse wird eingesetzt.

Die Idee für ein Add-On ist geboren

Unser Storybook Add-on schließt diese Lücke. Beide Schritte werden mit dem Add-On automatisiert. Das vollständige Pseudo-States-Styling der Komponente wird automatisch in reale CSS-Klassen übersetzt und über die Story Definition wird leicht definiert, welche States überhaupt präsentiert werden. Eine wahre Erleichterung!

Hier ein Einblick zu dem Add-On:

Mit der Community geteilt

Bei Ergosign haben wir an einem Freitag im Monat die Möglichkeit, uns mit einem selbstgewählten (UX) Thema zu beschäftigen - die Focus Time. Das Add-On war eines davon. Mit einem extra Zeitbudget wurden die benötigten Features umgesetzt. Und das erfolgreich! Das Add-On ist als Open Source-Version auf Github verfügbar und unterstützt die Frameworks React, Vue und Angular sowie Plain HTML. In der Betaphase sind weitere Features dazugekommen, wie die Permutationen - das Kombinieren verschiedener Pseudo-States und Custom-Attribute.

Die Community zeigt sich begeistert und verteilt fleißig Sterne. Unser Storybook Add-On kam in zahlreichen Projekten zur Verwendung.
Das Fazit war stets: sehr wertvoll für die Arbeit im Web Development. Der Entwicklungsprozess wird vereinfacht, beschleunigt und viele Fälle werden abgedeckt. Einer der großen Vorteile ist die effiziente Zusammenarbeit von Design und Development in manuellen Design Reviews.

Als Open Source Tool wird das Add-On stetig von uns weiterentwickelt. Alle Issues (Fehlermeldungen) werden in unserem Ticketsystem erfasst und bearbeitet. Dank der Community haben sich nicht nur viele Ergosign-Kolleginnen und -Kollegen beteiligt, auch von extern kommt Support.

...und wenn sie Storybook öffnen, dann verwenden sie das Add-On noch heute. 😉

Quelle Headerbild: Unsplash

Ergosign verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen den bestmöglichen Service zu gewährleisten. Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Cookie-Nutzung zu. Ich stimme nicht zu Ich stimme zu.