Agility towards the Finish Line: Weiss Umwelttechnik - S!MPATI® Online
Kristin Becker

Agility towards the Finish Line: Weiss Umwelttechnik - S!MPATI® Online

Kristin Becker
Senior Project Manager, Technology Expert Agile & Lean

04.10.2021 • 3 Minuten Lesezeit

Large, complex projects often require various expert teams to work together. The agile organization of these inter-company, inter-disciplinary teams is a challenge that can only be overcome together. You need a cohesive and open mindset, transparency regarding aims and expectations as well as short decision-making paths so that new requirements and realizations can be reacted to flexibly.

About Weiss Umwelttechnik

Ergosign has been a partner of Weiss Umwelttechnik - the market leader for environmental simulation systems for industries such as the automotive, electronic and pharma sectors - for many years. We have already successfully completed many projects together, and we were invited on board for their latest project, “S!MPATI® online” too:

„As a market leader, we want to constantly develop our product portfolio and have decided to supplement our already high-performance management software for environmental simulations to include a platform-based cloud service. “S!MPATI® online” is a modern, user-friendly platform that combines various location-independent services for the management, planning and organization of tests as well as facilitating the automated creation of test reports.“.

The Project

Ergosign has been supporting Weiss Umwelttechnik with its “S!MPATI® online” project since it began in mid 2018: it started off as a classic UCD (user-centered design) project with user research and scoping workshops. Together, concepts were validated and the visual design developed. In the meantime, product development was carried out agilely within Ergosign’s interdisciplinary design and development team together with cloud experts from tresmo, technicians from Weiss Umwelttechnik, the responsible project manager and the chief product owner. A strong, self-organized team quickly developed, designing and building on “Simpati Online” services together.

"Ergosign supports you in the successful implementation of your agile projects and guides you from project setup through to establishing a common agile mindset and tailored development processes right through to delivering and further developing your product."

Kristin Becker

Kristin Becker Senior Project Manager, Technology Expert Agile & Lean

Digital transformation is creating a constant process of change in an industrial context. The result? The number of technically complex projects is increasing, so more and more companies are placing their trust in the expertise of specialist service providers. This leads to more team arrangements where service providers work together with managers from various sectors.

Teamstruktur
Teamstruktur im Projekt

Test it. Heat it. Cool it. - Innovation ahead

Weiss Umwelttechnik’s solutions simulate various thermal and climatic conditions and are used worldwide in research and development as well as in the production and quality assurance of countless products.
“S!MPATI® online” provides companies with expanded software functions for test reports and test material management. Major added value is therefore offered by location-independent access to customer systems and the automated creation of editable test reports - including graph-based evaluations, written test documentation, test material images and corresponding system logs.
Big data and predictive maintenance will also play a key role in future. In the long term, the producer-specific IoT platform - alongside the planning, management and analysis of environmental simulations - should integrate further services and products via an IoT gateway and the cloud.

Screen from project
Screen from project

Perfectly Paired

Large amounts of data transferred from test consoles must be documented, analyzed and managed in a user-friendly yet meticulously thorough way. The quick and simple transfer into a test report as well as templates for recurring data and test processes save test engineers lots of time.
As a facilitator between all those involved in the project, the design team must always critically question and verify new requirements and changes in order to consolidate them into one concept that increases added value. So all Chief product owner needs, as well as the individual requirements of the front-end and back-end team, are taken into account.

Agile Development & Project Management

Transparency and trust are the cornerstones here. An agile approach to suit the project is necessary, ideally combining the best practices of various agile frameworks.
The dual track approach was a good option here. Designers use known UX methods to work on new concepts and designs based on user stories in close collaboration with the chief product owner as well as software engineers. Prioritized in advance, these are then directly planned into the next development sprint. The sprints are based on the Scrum framework and last 2 weeks, during which time concepts are implemented, retested from a design perspective and finally tested in terms of quality assurance. Product increments are therefore created within a short period of time; these are potentially deliverable and offer real added value.
Questioning processes, requirements and concepts is expressly desired. This increases the commitment and personal responsibility of each individual while also creating a high level of trust among stakeholders.
Simply introducing agile practices like user stories, product backlogs and sprint boards and working to an agile framework is not enough. The foundations for all agile working are formed by the right mindset with corresponding values and principles such as openness, transparency, courage, focus, and the trust that each individual team member is giving their all to drive the product forwards.

„The key to successful agile projects is the understanding of these values within the team, and a creative project environment where they can be put into practice.“

Doing-Being-Graphic
Doing-Being-Graphic

In order to give you a better service Ergosign uses cookies. Please agree to our use of cookies. I Disagree I Agree

Agil zum Ziel: Weiss Umwelttechnik - S!MPATI® online
Kristin Becker

Agil zum Ziel: Weiss Umwelttechnik - S!MPATI® online

Kristin Becker
Senior Project Manager, Technology Expert Agile & Lean

04.10.2021 • 3 Minuten Lesezeit

Große, komplexe Projekte erfordern oft die Mitwirkung verschiedenster Expertenteams. Die agile Organisation von solchen unternehmensübergreifenden, interdisziplinären Teams ist eine Herausforderung, die nur gemeinsam bewältigt werden kann. Dazu braucht es ein einheitliches und offenes Mindset, Transparenz hinsichtlich der Ziele und Erwartungen, sowie kurze Entscheidungswege um flexibel auf neue Anforderungen und Erkenntnisse reagieren zu können.

Zu Weiss Umwelttechnik

Ergosign ist langjähriger Partner der Weiss Umwelttechnik, dem Marktführer für Umweltsimulationsanlagen für Branchen wie Automotive über Electronic bis hin zu Pharma. Gemeinsam haben wir bereits mehrere Projekte erfolgreich umgesetzt und waren auch für das neueste Projekt „S!MPATI® online“ wieder an Board:

„Als Marktführer wollen wir unser Produktportfolio stets weiterentwickeln und haben uns dazu entschlossen, unsere bereits hochperformante Steuerungssoftware für Umweltsimulationen um einen plattformbasierten Cloudservice zu ergänzen. „S!MPATI® online“ ist eine moderne, nutzerfreundliche Plattform, die verschiedenste, standortunabhängige Services zur Steuerung, Planung und Verwaltung von Prüfungen vereint, sowie die automatisierte Erstellung von Prüfberichten ermöglicht“.

Zum Projekt

Ergosign unterstützt Weiss Umwelttechnik bei ihrem Projekt „S!MPATI® online“ bereits seit Projektbeginn Mitte 2018: Es startete als klassisches UCD-Projekt (User-centered Design) mit User Research und Scoping-Workshops. Gemeinsam wurden Konzepte validiert und das visuelle Design entwickelt. Mittlerweile erfolgt die Produktentwicklung agil im interdisziplinären Team aus Design und Development von Ergosign zusammen mit den Cloud-Expert:innen von tresmo, sowie den Techniker:innen der Weiss Umwelttechnik, den verantwortlichen Projektleiter:innen und dem Chief Product Owner. Schnell hat sich daraus ein selbstorganisiertes, starkes Team entwickelt, welches die Services von „Simpati Online“ gemeinsam weiterentwickelt und gestaltet.

"Ergosign unterstützt Sie bei der erfolgreichen Umsetzung Ihrer agilen Projekte und begleitet Sie vom Projekt-Setup, über die Etablierung eines gemeinsamen agilen Mindsets und maßgeschneiderten Entwicklungsprozesse, bis hin zur Auslieferung und Weiterentwicklung Ihres Produktes."

Kristin Becker

Kristin Becker Senior Project Manager, Technology Expert Agile & Lean

Die digitale Transformation sorgt im industriellen Kontext für einen stetigen Veränderungsprozess. Die Folge: Die Anzahl technisch komplexer Projekte steigt, weshalb immer mehr Unternehmen auf die Expertise spezialisierter Dienstleister vertrauen. Dadurch kommt es vermehrt zu Teamkonstellationen, in denen Verantwortliche verschiedenster Themenbereiche und Dienstleister zusammenarbeiten.

Teamstruktur
Teamstruktur im Projekt

Test it. Heat it. Cool it. - Innovation voraus

Die Lösungen der Weiss Umwelttechnik simulieren unterschiedliche thermische und klimatische Bedingungen und werden weltweit in Forschung und Entwicklung sowie bei der Fertigung und Qualitätssicherung zahlreicher Produkte eingesetzt.
„S!MPATI® online“ stellt Unternehmen erweiterte Softwarefunktionen zum Prüfberichtswesen und der Prüfgutverwaltung bereit. Einen großen Mehrwert bietet dabei der standortübergreifende Zugriff auf Anlagen bei Kunden und die automatisierte Erstellung editierbarer Prüfberichte – inklusive grafischer Auswertungen, der schriftlichen Prüfdokumentation, Prüfgutbilder und den zugehörigen Systemprotokollen.
Big Data und Predictive Maintenance spielen zukünftig eine große Rolle. Langfristig soll die herstellerspezifische IoT-Plattform – neben Planung, Verwaltung und Analyse von Umweltsimulationen – weitere Services und Produkte über ein IoT-Gateway und die Cloud integrieren.

Ein Screen aus dem Projek
Ein Screen aus dem Projekt

Perfekt aufeinander abgestimmt

Große Datenmengen, die von den Prüfschränken übermittelt werden, müssen nutzerfreundlich und lückenlos dokumentiert, analysiert und verwaltet werden können. Die schnelle und einfache Überführung in einen Prüfbericht und die Templates für wiederkehrende Aufgaben und Prüfungsabläufe spart den Prüfingenieure:innen viel Zeit.
Das Design Team als Facilitator zwischen allen Projektbeteiligten musste neue Anforderungen und Änderungen immer kritisch hinterfragen und verifizieren, um sie zu einem Mehrwert steigernden Konzept zu verschmelzen. So werden alle Anforderungen des Chief Product Owners, ebenso wie die individuellen Ansprüche des Front- und Backend-Teams berücksichtigt.

Agile Entwicklung & Projektmanagement

Transparenz und Vertrauen sind hier die Basis. Notwendig ist ein, auf das Projekt abgestimmtes agiles Vorgehen, das Best Practices verschiedenster agiler Frameworks vereint.
Hier hat sich eine Dual Track-Vorgehensweise angeboten. Designer erarbeiten anhand bekannter UX Methoden und in enger Abstimmung mit dem Chief Product Owner sowie den Software Engineers neue Konzepte und Designs auf Basis von User Stories. Vorab priorisiert, werden diese direkt in den nächsten Entwicklungssprint eingeplant. Die Sprints basieren auf dem Scrum Framework und haben eine Länge von 2 Wochen in denen Konzepte umgesetzt, aus Design-Sicht nochmals geprüft und anschließend im Rahmen der Qualitätssicherung getestet werden. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit entstehen so Produktinkremente, die potentiell auslieferbar sind und Mehrwert bieten.
Das Hinterfragen von Prozessen, Anforderungen und Konzepten ist ausdrücklich gewünscht. Dadurch steigt das Commitment und die Eigenverantwortung jedes Einzelnen, gleichzeitig entsteht großes Vertrauen seitens der Stakeholder.
Es reicht nicht bloß aus agile Praktiken wie User Stories, Product Backlogs und Sprint Boards einzuführen und nach einem agilen Framework zu arbeiten. Die Basis für agiles Arbeiten bildet das entsprechende Mindset mit dazugehörigen Werten und Prinzipien, wie beispielsweise Offenheit, Transparenz, Mut, Fokus und das Vertrauen, dass jedes einzelne Teammitglied sein Bestes gibt, um das Produkt voran zu treiben.

„Der Schlüssel für erfolgreiche agile Projekte liegt im Verständnis dieser Werte im Team und einem kreativen Projektumfeld, in dem sie gelebt werden können.“

Doing-Being-Grafik
Grundlage aller agilen Projekte bildet das Mindset (BEING) auf dem jeder weitere Prozess (DOING) aufbaut.

Ergosign verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen den bestmöglichen Service zu gewährleisten. Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Cookie-Nutzung zu. Ich stimme nicht zu Ich stimme zu.