Research? But we know what our users want! Part 1: Data collection
Sandra Engel Dr. Verena Rheinstädter

Research? But we know our users!

Sandra Engel Senior Communication Manager, Leadmanagement Expert

Dr. Verena Rheinstädter Senior UX Researcher, Research Expert User Research & Qualitative Methods

16.11.2020 • 6 minutes reading time

To understand users, their behavior, prior knowledge and needs, two proven methodological approaches can be distinguished: observation in a situational context and conducting interviews. This may sound easy — yet by no means is it trivial, as some may believe. That is why we have specially trained colleagues in this field who are well versed in the methods of user research.

One things is clear: User research is indispensable for truly aligning design with the needs of users in design that is user centered. For only if (future) users are actually involved in the design process can we ensure that an application fits the identified needs and is easy to use. In the event that user research is neglected in the course of a project, the concept is based on untested assumptions and runs the risk of being designer-centric rather than user-centric: Even UX designers are not immune to self-referential design.

Compared to traditional user research, service design goes a step further and involves not only users but also all other stakeholders within the company in the research and design process to develop a holistic solution. More details on service design and strategy are available here.

What research can achieve

User researchers play a key role in UX projects because they ensure that the concepts are developed on an evidence-driven (or put in modern terms: data-driven) basis. In order to test assumptions about users, their experience, the system, or the application context during a project, user researchers rely on methodological knowledge to formulate hypotheses:

To properly and correctly verify hypotheses, suitable methods must be selected and applied. We present an extract of methods that help to better understand user behavior in the following:

Methods

Selection and combination

Depending on the project phase, UX professionals are confronted with different questions.
At the start, it is often a matter of gaining a precise understanding of the user (groups), the context of use, the work objectives and the corresponding requirements and needs, as well as discovering new possibilities. Job shadowing in combination with interviews is especially well-suited for this purpose. Concepts and design can be checked using Usability tests and iteratively adapted based on user feedback in order to improve product quality and acceptance.

Simply “asking" in a non-application-related situation is often not sufficient. For there is a discrepancy between what people do and what they claim or believe they do. In that circumstance, observing concrete behavior can help to understand everyday use. That is why professional methods are so vital when it comes to obtaining reliable evidence for hypotheses.

Usability und UX testings

In a usability test, participants perform typical (work) tasks with a system. Our researchers accompany this test and ask specific questions. This way, we gain deeper insights that allow us to derive concrete approaches for improvement from current behavior.

Users do not always have to be on site for a usability test; remote surveys are also possible. An illustrative article on “Agile remote testing and candidate recruitment” for tests is available here.

In a usability test, UX researchers act both as moderators and observers. During implementation, it is often of great benefit if the responsible designers - and possibly also the stakeholders on the customer side - are involved and can thus directly understand the application through the users’ eyes.

Context analyses

While usability tests often take place in the controlled environment of a laboratory and based on pre-structured tasks, context analyses are carried out in the actual situational application context. This means that work is carried out on site, where the software will later be used. While an interview guide is often used to structure the conversation and observations, the method is based on the idea that UX researchers act as students and learn from the participants. In that way, our researchers obtain detailed and well-founded information on aspects such as the (work) environment, workarounds, artifacts or interactions with colleagues.

Inspection methods

... such as cognitive walkthroughs or heuristic evaluations do not necessarily involve the actual users in the design process but should be carried out by people who are very familiar with the domain and are thus in a position to adopt the most authentic user perspective possible. The findings of this method can be quantified by dividing them into categories and levels of severity.

Interview-based methods - such as focus groups, context analyses and usability testing - provide qualitative, i.e. non-numerical data. Ideally, different methods are combined to achieve a deeper understanding. Therefore, for example, we often ask participants to fill out a standardized survey at the end of a usability test session and then check whether the results point in the same direction or interpret deviations based on comprehensive benchmarks.
In a customer test we discovered some erratic findings; nevertheless, the SUS score (System Usability Scale, a quantitative survey method) of the software had excellent results. The customer hence went live with the product as planned, as no significant experience drops were to be expected, and he subsequently optimized the design.

... to be continued?

Are you interested in the topic of research? Then, why not check out our article on Predictive Prototyping.

Let's shape the future together! Meet us in our offices in Germany, Switzerland and China for an inspiring talk.

Get in touch

In order to give you a better service Ergosign uses cookies. Please agree to our use of cookies. I Disagree I Agree

Research? Wir wissen doch, was unsere Nutzer wollen! Teil 1: Datenerhebung
Sandra Engel Dr. Verena Rheinstädter

Research? Aber wir kennen unsere Nutzer!

Sandra Engel Senior Communication Manager, Leadmanagement Expert

Dr. Verena Rheinstädter Senior UX Researcher, Research Expert User Research & Qualitative Methods

16.11.2020 • 6 Minuten Lesezeit

Zum Verständnis von Nutzerinnen und Nutzern, ihrem Verhalten, ihrem Vorwissen und ihren Bedürfnissen lassen sich zwei bewährte methodische Zugänge unterscheiden: die Beobachtung im situativen Kontext und die Durchführung von Interviews. Das klingt einfach — ist aber keinesfalls so trivial, wie man meinen möchte. Deswegen haben wir auch in diesem Feld speziell ausgebildete Kolleginnen und Kollegen, die sich mit den Methoden der User Research in aller Tiefe auskennen.

Eines ist klar: User Research ist unerlässlich zur wirklichen Ausrichtung der Gestaltung auf die Bedürfnisse von Nutzerinnen und Nutzer im User Centered Design. Denn nur, wenn tatsächlich (zukünftige) Anwenderinnen und Anwender in den Designprozess eingebunden werden, können wir sicherstellen, dass eine Applikationen zu den identifizierten Bedürfnissen passt und einfach nutzbar ist. Wird während eines Projekts User Research ausgelassen, so basiert das Konzept auf ungeprüften Annahmen und läuft Gefahr, eher designerzentriert als nutzerzentriert zu sein: Auch UX Designer sind vor selbst-referentiellem Design nicht gefeit.

Im Vergleich zur klassischen User Research geht Service Design noch einen Schritt weiter und bindet nicht nur Nutzer und Nutzerinnen, sondern auch alle anderen Stakeholder innerhalb des Unternehmens in den Research- und Gestaltungsprozess mit ein, um eine ganzheitliche Lösung zu entwickeln. Mehr zu Service Design und Strategy finden Sie hier.

Was Research leistet

User Researcher kommen in UX-Projekten zentrale Rollen zu, denn sie stellen sicher, dass die Konzepte evidenz-basiert (oder moderner formuliert: data-driven) entwickelt werden. Um während eines Projekts Annahmen über Nutzerinnen und Nutzer, ihre Erfahrung, das System oder den Anwendungskontext zu überprüfen, greifen User Researcher auf methodisches Wissen zur Formulierung von Hypothesen zurück:

Zur fachgerechten Überprüfung von Hypothesen müssen dazu passende Methoden ausgewählt und angewandt werden. Nachfolgend stellen wir einen einen Auszug von Methoden vor, die helfen, Nutzerverhalten besser nachvollziehen zu können:

Methoden

Auswahl und Kombination

Je nach Projektphase sind UX Professionals mit verschiedenen Fragestellungen konfrontiert.
Anfangs geht es häufig darum, ein präzises Verständnis der Nutzer(gruppen), des Nutzungskontextes, der Arbeitsziele und der entsprechenden Anforderungen und Bedürfnisse zu erlangen sowie neue Möglichkeiten zu entdecken. Hierfür bieten sich vor allem Job-Shadowings in Kombination mit Interviews an. Konzepte und Gestaltung können mit Usability Testings überprüft und auf Basis von Nutzer-Feedback iterativ angepasst werden, um so die Qualität des Produkts und die Akzeptanz zu verbessern.

Einfaches „Nachfragen“ in einer nicht-anwendungsbezogenen Situation ist oft nicht ausreichend. Denn es gibt eine Diskrepanz zwischen dem, was Menschen tun, und dem, was sie behaupten oder glauben zu tun. Hier kann das Beobachten von konkretem Verhalten helfen, den Nutzungsalltag zu begreifen. Deswegen sind professionelle Methoden das A und O, um belastbare Belege zu Hypothesen zu erhalten.

Usability und UX Testings

In einem Usability Testing führen Teilnehmende typische (Arbeits-)aufgaben mit einem System durch, unsere Researcher begleiten diesen „Test“ und stellen gezielt Nachfragen. So gewinnen wir tiefe Erkenntnisse, die es uns erlauben, aus dem aktuellen Verhalten konkrete Verbesserungsansätze abzuleiten.

Nicht immer müssen Nutzerinnen und Nutzer für einen Usability Test vor Ort sein; auch remote „Befragungen“ sind möglich. Einen anschaulichen Artikel zum Thema „Agiles remote Testing und Kandidatenrekrutierung“ für Tests finden Sie hier.

In einem Usability Test treten UX Researcher sowohl als Moderatoren als auch als Beobachter auf. Während der Durchführung ist es häufig von großem Nutzen, wenn auch die verantwortlichen Designer — und unter Umständen auch die Stakeholder auf Kundenseite — involviert sind und diese so direkt die Anwendung durch die Augen der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer verstehen können.

Kontextanalysen

Während Usability Tests häufig in der kontrollierten Umgebung eines Labors und anhand vorstrukturierter Aufgaben stattfinden, finden Kontextanalysen im tatsächlichen situativen Anwendungskontext statt. Dies bedeutet, dass vor Ort gearbeitet wird, also dort, wo die Software später zum Einsatz kommen wird. Zwar wird auch hier häufig auf einen Interviewleitfaden zurückgegriffen, um Gespräch und Beobachtung zu strukturieren, die Methode basiert aber auf der Idee, dass UX Researcher als Schüler auftreten und von den Teilnehmenden lernen. Unsere Researcher gewinnen so detaillierte und fundierte Informationen zu Aspekten wie der (Arbeits-)umgebung, Workarounds, Artefakten oder der Interaktionen mit Kollegen.

Inspektionsmethoden

… wie Cognitive Walkthroughs oder heuristische Evaluationen binden zwar nicht notwendigerweise die tatsächlichen Nutzerinnen und Nutzer in den Designprozess ein, sollten aber von Personen durchgeführt werden, die die Domäne sehr gut kennen und somit in der Lage sind, eine möglichst authentische Nutzerperspektive einzunehmen. Die Findings dieser Methode lassen sich durch das Unterteilen in Kategorien und Schweregrade quantifizieren.

Auf Interviews basierende Methoden – wie Fokusgruppen, Kontextanalysen und Usability Testings – liefern qualitative, also nicht-numerische Daten. Idealerweise werden verschiedene Methoden kombiniert, um ein tieferes Verständnis zu erlangen. Deshalb bitten wir z. B. Teilnehmende am Ende eines Usability Testings häufig darum, einen standardisierten Fragebogen auszufüllen und schauen dann, ob die Ergebnisse in die gleiche Richtung weisen oder interpretieren Abweichungen auf Basis umfassender Benchmarks.

So entdeckten wir in einem Kundentesting zwar einige Findings; trotzdem fiel der SUS-Score (System Usability Scale, ein quantitatives Erhebungsverfahren) der Software exzellent aus. Da keine wesentlichen Einbußen in der Experience zu erwarten waren, ging der Kunde mit dem Produkt wie geplant live und optimierte das Design im Anschluss.

... Fortsetzung?

Das Thema Research interessiert Sie? Dann lohnt sich ein Blick in unseren Artikel zu Predictive Prototyping.

Let's shape the future together! Kommen Sie in unsere Offices in Deutschland und der Schweiz, um gemeinsam innovativ zu sein.

Get in touch

Ergosign verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen den bestmöglichen Service zu gewährleisten. Bitte stimmen Sie unserer Cookie-Nutzung zu. Ich stimme nicht zu Ich stimme zu.