UX DESIGN FOR INNOVATIVE TOLL SYSTEMS

Our scalable, responsive design is already in use both nationally and internationally: on toll terminals, smartphones, tablets and desktops.

AT A GLANCE

Customer Toll Collect GmbH
Sector Toll Systems
Project Manual toll process 2.0
Devices Desktop, Tablet, Smartphone, Toll Collect Terminal
Services Icon Design, Style Guide, Usability Tests, UX Design

OUR MISSION

The Toll Collect GmbH is tasked with implementing a nationwide truck toll system. In 2018, the toll network was expanded to include all federal highways and the manual toll process was reworked. Ergosign developed the UX design for a responsive web application for desktop PCs, tablets, smartphones and especially developed toll terminals installed at large gas stations, truck stops and rest areas. To ensure the smooth implementation of the UI design, we also created an interactive style guide. Finally, the implemented design was validated in usability tests on various devices.

„In close cooperation with us, Ergosign has designed an innovative product that is specifically tailored to our target group (...) Regarding their project management, we particularly appreciated the high level of competence, continuous customer orientation and adherence to agreed deadlines.“

Claudia Lozek

Claudia Lozek

Project Manager
Toll Collect GmbH

CHALLENGE

The software is aimed at a very heterogeneous target group, which results in a range of different requirements for the design: for example, foreign language and computer skills vary within diverse spectrums. The time pressure faced by drivers and dispatchers plays a special role during the toll process. It follows that booking and cancellation processes should be simplified and globalized.

SOLUTION

Users are led through the toll process step by step. Easy-to-understand metaphors and a clear visual language ensure easy operation for an international target group. Route information, traffic restrictions on the route and a detailed representation of the ticket have been adapted to the needs of toll users. Clear user guidance facilitates fast toll bookings and cancellations — whether the user is using a smartphone, tablet, computer or terminal.

Responsives Web-App-Design für Toll Collect

SPECIAL FEATURES

In order to design the user interface, we went through the whole user-centered design process with the Toll Collect team — from contextual analysis to testing. In order to establish specific user needs in the early phases, we incorporated these into our design process. We made our ideas tangible using interactive prototypes. We used these in real situations at truck stops in order to test our concepts and to clearly measure the application’s user experience.

ABOUT TOLL COLLECT GMBH

Since January 1st 2005, Toll Collect has been reliably operating the world’s first satellite-supported toll system for heavy goods vehicles. Since the toll was introduced, Toll Collect has been a reliable partner for the federal government — tried and tested in handling tolls. But the focus is not just on the client’s statutory and contractual requirements. The customer’s concerns and customer-facing operational processes are significant factors in the set-up of processes, such as various payment methods and paperless data transfer.

More case studies

Key Technology

Key Technology

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk

UX Design für innovative Mautsysteme

Unser skalierbares, responsives Design ist bereits im nationalen und internationalen Einsatz: an Mautbuchungsterminals, Smartphones, Tablets und am Desktop-PC.

Auf einen Blick

Kunde Toll Collect GmbH
Branche Mautsysteme
Projekt Manuelles Mautbuchungsverfahren 2.0
Devices Desktop, Tablet, Smartphone, Toll Collect Buchungsterminal
Services Icon Design, Style Guide, Usability Tests, UX Design

Unsere Aufgabe

Die Toll Collect GmbH ist der Betreiber des deutschen LKW-Mautsystems. Im Jahr 2018 wurde das Mautnetz um alle Bundesstraßen erweitert und auch das manuelle Einbuchungsverfahren überarbeitet. Ergosign erarbeitete das UX Design einer responsiven Web-Anwendung für Desktop-PCs, Tablets, Smartphones sowie die eigens dafür entwickelten Mautbuchungsterminals, welche an großen Tankstellen, Autohöfen und Raststätten aufgestellt sind. Zur reibungslosen Implementierung des UI-Designs erstellten wir zudem einen interaktiven Style Guide. Abschließend wurde das implementierte Design in Usability Testings an verschiedenen Geräten und Orten validiert.

„Ergosign hat in enger Kooperation mit uns ein innovatives Produkt gestaltet, welches speziell auf unsere Zielgruppe abgestimmt ist.(...) Wir schätzten bei der Projektbetreuung besonders die hohe Kompetenz, kontinuierliche Kundenorientierung und das Einhalten von vereinbarten Terminen.“

Claudia Lozek

Claudia Lozek

Projektleiterin
Toll Collect GmbH

Herausforderung

Die Software richtet sich an eine sehr heterogene Zielgruppe, welche zahlreiche unterschiedliche Voraussetzungen mit sich bringt, die es im Design zu beachten gilt: Beispielsweise rangieren Fremdsprachen- sowie Computer-Kenntnisse innerhalb diverser Spektren. Zusätzlich spielt der Zeitdruck der Fahrer und Disponenten während der Einbuchung eine besondere Rolle. Generell sollten demnach Buchungs- und Stornierungsvorgänge vereinfacht und internationalisiert werden.

Lösung

Die Nutzer werden Schritt für Schritt durch die Einbuchung der Maut geführt. Eindeutige Metaphern und eine klare Bildsprache sorgen hierbei für eine international verständliche Bedienung. Routeninformationen, Verkehrsbeschränkungen auf der Strecke, aber auch eine detaillierte Darstellung der Karte wurden an die Bedürfnisse bei der Mautbuchung angepasst. Die klare Nutzerführung ermöglicht eine schnelle Einbuchung und Stornierung der Maut — egal ob auf dem Smartphone, Tablet, am Computer oder am Terminal.

Responsives Web-App-Design für Toll Collect

Besonderheiten

Zur Gestaltung des User Interface durchliefen wir mit dem Team von Toll Collect den gesamten User-Centered-Designprozess — von der kontextuellen Analyse bis hin zum Testing. Um bereits in frühen Phasen konkrete Nutzerbedürfnisse zu ermitteln, banden wir diese immer wieder in unseren Gestaltungsprozess ein. Dafür machten wir unsere Ideen mithilfe von interaktiven Protoypen erfahrbar. Diese nutzen wir in realen Situationen an Raststätten um unsere Konzepte zu überprüfen und die User Experience der Anwendung nachvollziehbar zu messen.

Über Toll Collect GmbH

Seit dem 1. Januar 2005 betreibt Toll Collect das weltweit erste satellitengestützte Mautsystem für Lastkraftwagen stabil und zuverlässig. Seit dem Mautstart ist Toll Collect der verlässliche Partner für die Bundesregierung — erprobt in der Abwicklung der Maut. Doch nicht nur die gesetzlichen und vertraglichen Anforderungen des Auftraggebers stehen im Fokus. Darüber hinaus sind die Anliegen und betrieblichen Abläufe auf Kundenseite bestimmende Faktoren für die Gestaltung der Prozesse, etwa bei den unterschiedlichen Zahlwegen und beim papierlosen Datentransfer.

Weitere case studies

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Key Technology

Key Technology

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems