UI DESIGN FOR MRT DEVICES

A software project for MRT devices, which we implemented in the healthcare sector in longstanding collaboration with the Siemens Healthineers.

AT A GLANCE

Customer Siemens Healthineers
Sector Health
Project UX Design for MRTs
Services User Research, UX Strategy, UX Design

OUR MISSION

A new UI should be developed for the software of magnetic resonance therapy devices (MRT) that would integrate seamlessly into existing systems and requirements. The design, by Ergosign focused on user-friendliness and intuitive control of the MRT on the integrated display as well as on the desktop.

"During the project we were able to bridge the gap between two very different usability contexts in order to ensure a solid user experience with respect to the MTRA."

Hannes Fritz

Hannes Fritz

Senior UX Designer
Ergosign GmbH

CHALLENGE

The new UI was not a standalone development, but should be embedded into an existing system. The task at hand, thus was to make the best possible use of such limited room to maneuver. The control on the integrated display of the MRT should have a look and feel which upholds consistency within the setup software while reflecting the high-quality appearance of the device.

SOLUTION

Ergosign modified the examination setup on the PC for the new UI and also incorporated new technologies (WPF) to unlock maximum interactivity for a user-friendly design of the dot engines. The controls on the device were enhanced by a modern look and feel.

Siemens UI Screens

Project

The entire UI was reworked for desktop and embedded systems within the project. 4 UX designers and a project manager of the Ergosign team worked closely together with the team, project manager, product manager and the development team of Siemens.

ABOUT SIEMENS HEALTHINEERS

The healthcare sector of the Siemens AG is particularly innovation driven in the field of ​​magnetic resonance tomography. The new workflow technology Dot (Day optimizing throughput) features prominently in the two new systems, MAGNETOM Aera and MAGNETOM Skyra.

More case studies

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk

UI Design für zukunftsweisende MRT-Geräte

Ein Softwareprojekt für MRT-Geräte, welches wir in der jahrelangen Zusammenarbeit mit den Siemens Healthineers im Healthcare Sektor realisierten.

Auf einen Blick

Kunde Siemens Healthineers
Branche Health
Projekt UX Design für MRTs
Services User Research, UX Strategy, UX Design

Unsere Aufgabe

Für die Software der Magnetresonanztomographen (MRT) sollte ein neues UI entstehen, welches sich nahtlos in die bestehenden Systeme und Voraussetzungen integriert. Der Fokus des Designs durch Ergosign lag auf der Benutzerfreundlichkeit und der intuitiven Steuerung des MRT am integrierten Display sowie dem Desktop.

"Im Projekt schlugen wir die Brücke zwischen zwei sehr unterschiedlichen Nutzungskontexten, um ein durchgehendes Nutzungserlebnis für die MTRA zu gewährleisten."

Hannes Fritz

Hannes Fritz

Senior UX Designer
Ergosign GmbH

Herausforderung

Das neue UI entstand nicht losgelöst, sondern sollte in ein bestehendes System eingebettet werden. Es galt, den dadurch eingeschränkten Handlungsspielraum optimal zu nutzen. Die Steuerung am integrierten Display des MRT sollte mit einem Look & Feel versehen werden, welches sowohl Konsistenz zur Setup-Software wahrt, als auch die hochwertige Erscheinung des Geräts widerspiegelt.

Lösung

Für das neue UI überarbeitete Ergosign das Untersuchungssetup am PC und integrierte neue Technologien (WPF), um für eine benutzerfreundliche Gestaltung der Dot Engines aus einem Maximum an Interaktivität zu schöpfen. Die Steuerung am Gerät wurde durch ein modernes Look & Feel aufgewertet.

Siemens UI Screens

Projekt

Im Projekt wurde das gesamte UI für Desktop sowie Embedded Systeme überarbeitet. Dazu arbeiteten 4 UX Designer sowie ein Projektleiter des Ergosign-Teams eng mit dem Team, Projektleiter, Product Manager und dem Entwicklungsteam von Siemens zusammen.

Über Siemens Healthineers

Der Healthcare Sektor der Siemens AG ist insbesondere im Bereich der Magnetresonanztomographie innovationstreibend. Bei den beiden neuen Systemen MAGNETOM Aera sowie MAGNETOM Skyra spielt die neue Workflow-Technologie Dot (Day optimizing throughput) eine entscheidende Rolle.

Weitere case studies

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk