Siemens Healthineers UX Icon Framework

AT A GLANCE

Customer Siemens Healthineers: PLM-UX
Sector Healthcare
Project Icon Framework for Siemens Healthineers
Services Icon Design, Redesign, Style Guide, Wireframes für Icon Library, in-site Scoping Workshops

Our mission

As part of a larger harmonization project across the various areas of business that Siemens Healthineers are involved in, the task was to create an icon framework including a unified style as well as its own metaphoric system. Specific tasks such as color selection or established metaphors in medicine technology were involved and further developed.
Our work encompassed the further development of the icon style, the redesign of existing icons and the expansion of the icon collection by establishing new metaphors. Another part of the project was conceptual work on a database for icons, and the icon library intended to coordinate and simplify icon management.

"Ergosign significantly contributed to Siemens Healthineers now having a unique, prize-winning icon framework. The Ergosign team’s spirit was always good. Thank you, Ergosign, for this great collaboration!"

Jonas Vollmer

Jonas Vollmer

Director User Experience Design
Siemens Healthineers

SOLUTION

Up to now, over 1,000 icons have been developed within the icon framework. Working with the central department for User Experience and Design at Siemens Healthineers, an effective design process was developed as well as the icon design itself, while the style guide was also expanded and refined. We developed wireframes as the foundations of the internal icon library, the central starting point for any icon.
The newly developed icons stand out with a clear, two-dimensional and geometric style that is monochrome, highly specialized and easy to understand. Established metaphors were applied across various areas of business and products, allowing a simple exchange between systems and therefore the fast learning of new applications.

PRIZE-WINNING: RED DOT AWARD

In October 2017, the Siemens Healthineers UX Icon Framework was awarded the Red Dot Award 2017: Communication Design in the category of User Interface Design, Icon Design.
The international Red Dot Award is a seal that recognizes impressive and high-quality design. A total of 8,051 projects were put forward in 2017.

Icon Library der Siemens Healthineers PLM:UX

MUTUAL COLLABORATION

For the icon framework, we worked closely with the central User Experience and Design department at Siemens Healthineers, PLM-UX and specialist departments, or Business Lines. Through joint workshops and intensive induction into specialist medical departments, we developed suitable metaphors for challenging, specific application contexts.
Together, we came up with an internal process that optimally synchronized PLM-UX, designers, and application specialists from Business Lines.
But our project didn’t end with the icon design: we will continue to support PLM-UX in the development of new icons and the development of the icon framework.

About Siemens Healthineers

At Siemens Healthineers, we want to make healthcare providers succeed in an ever-changing healthcare industry – by helping them deliver better outcomes at lower costs. This purpose drives our focus: to lead the transformation of healthcare together with the ones delivering it. Being a leading global healthcare company, we at Siemens Healthineers are continuously developing our portfolio, from medical imaging and laboratory diagnostics, to adding managed services, consulting, and healthcare IT services – as well as further technologies for therapeutic and molecular diagnostics.

More case studies

ATOSS Software AG

ATOSS Software AG

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Siemens Healthineers UX Icon Framework

Auf einen Blick

Kunde Siemens Healthineers: PLM-UX
Branche Healthcare
Projekt Icon Framework für Siemens Healthineers
Services Icon Design, Redesign, Style Guide, Wireframes für Icon Library, Scoping Workshops vor Ort

Unsere Aufgabe

Im Rahmen eines übergeordneten Harmonisierungsprojektes über die verschiedenen Geschäftsgebiete von Siemens Healthineers hinweg sollte ein Icon Framework entstehen, das neben einem einheitlichen Stil auch ein eigenes Metaphorik-System beinhaltet. Spezifische Vorgaben wie die Farbauswahl oder etablierte Metaphern in der Medizintechnik wurden mit einbezogen und weiterentwickelt.
Unsere Arbeit umfasste die Weiterentwicklung des Iconstils, das Redesign bestehender Icons und die Erweiterung der Icon-Sammlung durch das Etablieren neuer Metaphern. Ein weiterer Teil des Projektes war die konzeptionelle Arbeit an einer Datenbank für die Icons, der sogenannten Icon Library, mit der die Verwaltung der Icons koordiniert und vereinfacht werden sollte.

"Ergosign hat maßgeblich dazu beigetragen, dass Siemens Healthineers heute ein einzigartiges und preisgekröntes Icon Framework hat. Der Spirit des Ergosign-Teams war stets gut. Danke, Ergosign, für diese großartige Zusammenarbeit!"

Jonas Vollmer

Jonas Vollmer

Director User Experience Design
Siemens Healthineers

UNSERE LÖSUNGEN

Bis heute wurden innerhalb des Icon Frameworks über 1.000 Icons entwickelt. In Zusammenarbeit mit der zentralen Abteilung für User Experience und Design von Siemens Healthineers wurde - neben dem Icon Design selbst - ein effektiver Designprozess entwickelt sowie der Style Guide weiter ausgebaut und verfeinert. Für die interne Icon Library, die zentrale Anlaufstelle für Icons, entwickelten wir Wireframes als Grundlage.
Die neu entwickelten Icons zeichnen sich durch einen klaren, zweidimensionalen und geometrisch aufgebauten Stil aus, der monochrom gehalten, hoch spezialisiert und gleichzeitig leicht verständlich ist. Etablierte Metaphern werden über die verschiedenen Geschäftsgebiete und Produkte hinweg eingesetzt und ermöglichen so einen einfachen Wechsel zwischen Systemen und ein schnelles Lernen neuer Applikationen.

PREISGEKRÖNT: RED DOT AWARD 2017

Das Siemens Healthineers UX Icon Framework wurde im Oktober 2017 mit dem Red Dot Award 2017: Communication Design in der Kategorie User Interface Design, Icon Design ausgezeichnet.
Der international ausgeschriebene Red Dot Award ist mit seinem Siegel eine Anerkennung für überzeugende und hohe Designqualität. 2017 wurden insgesamt 8.051 Projekte eingereicht.

Icon Library der Siemens Healthineers PLM:UX

GEMEINSAME ZUSAMMENARBEIT

Für das Icon Framework arbeiteten wir eng mit der zentralen User Experience- und Design-Abteilung von Siemens Healthineers, PLM-UX sowie mit den Fachbereichen, der sogenannten Business Lines zusammen. Durch gemeinsame Workshops und intensive Einarbeitung in die medizinischen Fachbereiche erarbeiteten wir die passenden Metaphern für die anspruchsvollen spezifischen Anwendungskontexte.
Gemeinsam erarbeiteten wir einen internen Prozess, der PLM-UX sowie Designer und Applikationsspezialisten der Business Lines optimal synchronisiert.
Mit dem Design der Icons endet unser Projekt aber nicht: wir werden PLM-UX weiterhin bei der Entwicklung neuer Icons sowie der Ausarbeitung des Icon Frameworks unterstützen.

Über Siemens Healthineers

Siemens Healthineers ist das separat geführte Healthcare-Geschäft der Siemens AG. Es unterstützt Gesundheitsversorger weltweit dabei, bessere Ergebnisse bei geringeren Kosten zu erzielen, indem es ihnen dabei hilft, die Präzisionsmedizin auszubauen, die Gesundheitsversorgung neu zu gestalten, die Patientenerfahrung zu verbessern und das Gesundheitswesen zu digitalisieren. Als führendes Unternehmen der Medizintechnik entwickelt Siemens Healthineers sein Produkt- und Serviceportfolio stetig weiter. Das gilt für die Kernbereiche der Bildgebung für Diagnostik und Therapie sowie für die Labordiagnostik und die molekulare Medizin. Zusätzlich werden die Angebote im Bereich digitale Gesundheitsservices und Krankenhausmanagement stetig weiterentwickelt.

Weitere case studies

ATOSS Software AG

ATOSS Software AG

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign