Mobile sensitivities­measurement and coherent data visualization

A concept for precisely measuring, documenting and analyzing sensitivities

At a glance

Customer Ergosign - Research project
Sector Sensivities measurement and data visualization
Project Health
Devices Desktop, Tablet, Smartphone, Apple Watch
Services User Research, UX Strategy, UX Design, UX Development (Web, iOS, watchOS), Style Guide

Our Idea

Sensitivities measurement plays a key role for healthcare professionals and patients alike. Ergosign developed the “Quiri” concept to replace obsolete “pencil and paper” methods and to make assessment more comprehensive. Patients use a mobile app to assess their current sensitivities according to clinically tested methods. Measurement data is also enriched during a partially automated process (once consent has been granted) to enable medical professionals to evaluate information more comprehensively. A high-performance web UI supports efficient data visualization.

"Quiri enables both pain assessment and documentation using a multitude of different measuring methods and illustrates this in an easy-to-use workflow and a modern design."

Isabelle Schacht

Isabelle Schacht

UX Designer
Ergosign GmbH

Challenge

Children and young people place particular demands on the UI: the acquisition of sensitivity data must be designed so that it isn’t just easy to use, but ideally makes patients connect with the app through positive emotional experiences.

Solution

With some measuring methods, children choose an identity-forming avatar which they use as a mirror to communicate their condition.
The information can be transmitted to the doctor at regular intervals and without a great deal of extra effort using mobile devices (tablets, phones and smartwatches). The doctor is given a clear and efficient overview of their patients’ current sensitivities in the dashboard.

QUIRI: PAIN RECORDING AND ANALYSIS WITH APPLE WATCH

Start video

procedure

Quiri was developed based on the IEC 62366 usability standards for medical devices. In this regard, we would particularly like to thank the Schmerzzentrum Berlin, especially Dr. med. Jan-Peter Jansen, and the Universitätsklinikum des Saarlandes, especially OA Dr. Patric Bialas (link?), for their invaluable support.

AWARD-WINNING WORK

In March 2017, our colleague Annika Kaltenhauser was awarded the eCare Prize for the Humane Use of IT in Care for her thesis on Quiri. Annika developed a highly efficient UI to analyze the sensitivity data and related environmental variables in her Master’s thesis. Using a high-fidelity prototype, the design was enabled for interaction with the complex data structures and evaluated with users.

More case studies

Key Technology

Key Technology

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Mobile Befindlichkeits­messung und kohärente Datenvisualisierung

Ein Konzept zur präzisen Befindlichkeitsmessung, -dokumentation und -analyse

Auf einen Blick

Kunde Ergosign - Forschungsprojekt
Branche Schmerzerfassung und Datenvisualisierung
Projekt Health
Devices Desktop, Tablet, Smartphone, Apple Watch
Services User Research, UX Strategy, UX Design, UX Development (Web, iOS, watchOS), Style Guide

Unsere Idee

Befindlichkeitsmessung spielt sowohl für Healthcare Professionals als auch Patienten eine wichtige Rolle. Um überholte 'Paper/Pencil'-Methoden abzulösen und die Erfassung umfassender zu gestalten, entwickelte Ergosign das Konzept 'Quiri': per mobiler App erfassen Patienten ihre aktuelle Befindlichkeit nach klinisch erprobten Messmethoden. Außerdem werden Messdaten (nach Zustimmung) teilautomatisiert angereichert, um Medizinern eine umfassendere Auswertung zu ermöglichen. Ein hochperformantes Web-UI unterstützt die effiziente Datenvisualisierung.

"Quiri ermöglicht die Erfassung und Dokumentation von Schmerzen in einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Messmethoden und bildet diese in einem leicht zu nutzenden Workflow und zeitgemäßem Design ab."

Isabelle Schacht

Isabelle Schacht

UX Designerin
Ergosign GmbH

Herausforderung

Kinder und Jugendliche stellen besondere Anforderungen an das UI: die Aufnahme von Daten zur Befindlichkeit muss so gestaltet sein, dass sie nicht nur einfach zu bedienen ist, sondern idealerweise Patienten emotional positiv behaftet an die App bindet.

Lösung

Bei bestimmten Messmethoden wählen Kinder einen identitätsstiftenden Avatar über den sie - als Spiegel - ihre jeweilige Verfassung kommunizieren. Über mobile Geräte (Tablets, Phones und Smartwatches) können die Informationen in regelmäßigen Abständen und ohne großen Mehraufwand an den Arzt übermittelt werden. Dieser erhält in seinem Dashboard einen übersichtlichen und effizienten Überblick über die aktuelle Befindlichkeit seiner Patienten.

QUIRI: SCHMERZERFASSUNG UND ANALYSE MIT APPLE WATCH

VORGEHENSWEISE

Quiri wurde anhand der Usability-Standards für medizinische Geräte IEC 62366 entwickelt. Wir bedanken uns hier insbesondere beim Schmerzzentrum Berlin, speziell Dr. med. Jan-Peter Jansen sowie dem Universitätsklinikum des Saarlandes, speziell OA Dr. Patric Bialas für ihre wertvolle Unterstützung.

PREISGEKRÖNTE ARBEIT

Unserer Kollegin Annika Kaltenhauser wurde im März 2017 für ihre Abschlussarbeit zu Quiri der eCare Preis für humane Nutzung der Informationstechnologie in der Pflege verliehen. Annika entwickelte in ihrer Master-Thesis ein hocheffizientes UI zur Analyse der Befindlichkeitsdaten sowie zugehörigen Umgebungsvariablen. Anhand eines High-Fidelity Prototypen wurde das Design zur Interaktion mit den komplexen Datenstrukturen ermöglicht und mit Anwendern evaluiert.

Weitere case studies

Key Technology

Key Technology

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk