Excellent Document exchange experience

The best user experience while exchanging documents and communicating in technical companies.

At a glance

Customer PROCAD GmbH & Co. KG
Industry Product data and document management, product lifecycle management
Project PROOM
Services UX Design, Icon Design, Design Manual Additions

Our mission

With PROOM, PROCAD creates a central platform for the exchange of documents, which can be used for cooperation between customers, partners and suppliers as well as for internal communication in large companies. Using PROOM, confidential documents can be shared quickly and securely.
In a first project, Ergosign's task was to optimize the layout of the existing platform and to give the design a visual fine-tuning.
In a second project, we also extended the platform functionally: with a comment area, PROOM now enables direct, document-related communication between users.

"Good ideas that get to the heart of the further development of our product's user interface - that is what makes our long-standing cooperation with Ergosign as a partner."

Till Pleyer

Till Pleyer

Head of Marketing
PROCAD GmbH & Co. KG

Challenge

Since the PROOM platform is already successfully in use, one factor was of decisive importance for the re-brush of the design: the existing users. They should still be able to work with PROOM just as before after the update. This balancing act between the consideration of existing interactions and structures as well as the improvement of usability presented a special challenge.

In the second part of the project, in which we functionally extended the system, the seamless integration of the comment function into the existing user interface and into the users' workflows was essential.

All innovations should also meet the high demands of the PROCAD customer base.

Solution

Due to the long-standing cooperation with PROCAD, our UX designers were able to optimally incorporate their knowledge of the existing system and its users as well as their experience with the specific design guidelines into the design.

As an extension of the new functions which we developed, we not only designed a comment area, but also a download function, as well as the possibility to inform users by email about comments or changes to documents.

The existing design guidelines served as a basis and were supplemented by the new concepts during the course of the project.

The final plattform

Start video

Agile methods

The redesign of the platform is characterized by its clear layout. Large icons designed by Ergosign and the easy-to-read Slab-Serif font enable all users to quickly find their way around the platform and also give it a modern appearance.

In an on-site appointment, we first got a detailed picture of the requirements. During the course of the project, we were always in close contact with PROCAD. Thanks to the flexible cooperation and agile approach, we were able to carry out the project lean and efficiently.

About PROCAD GmbH & Co. KG

PROCAD GmbH & Co. KG is a software manufacturer of platform solutions for the digitalization of medium-sized companies in the field of product and document lifecycle management. The Karlsruhe-based company has been on the market since 1985 and employs over 130 people. More than 600 technical companies are already successfully using PROCAD products for PDM, PLM and DMS.
PROCAD is represented at 5 German locations and internationally in BeNeLux, Italy, Austria, USA and Switzerland.

More case studies

Key Technology

Key Technology

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Herausragende UX beim Dokumentenaustausch

Beste User Experience beim Austausch von Dokumenten und der Kommunikation in technischen Unternehmen.

Auf einen Blick

Kunde PROCAD GmbH & Co. KG
Branche Produktdaten- und Dokumentmanagement, Product Lifecycle Management
Projekt PROOM
Services UX Design, Icon Design, Design-Manual-Erweiterung

Unsere Aufgabe

Mit PROOM schafft PROCAD eine zentrale Plattform zum Austausch von Dokumenten, die sowohl in der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Kunden, Partnern und Lieferanten als auch zur internen Kommunikation in großen Unternehmen zum Einsatz kommen kann. Mit PROOM können vertrauliche Dokumente schnell und sicher geteilt werden.
In einem ersten Projekt bestand die Aufgabe von Ergosign darin, das Layout der bestehenden Plattform zu optimieren sowie dem Design einen visuellen Feinschliff zu verleihen.
In einem zweiten Projekt erweiterten wir die Plattform außerdem funktional: mit einem Kommentarbereich ermöglicht PROOM nun die direkte, dokumentenbezogene Kommunikation zwischen Nutzern.

"Gute Ideen, die die Weiterentwicklung des User Interface unseres Produktes genau auf den Punkt bringen — das macht unsere langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Ergosign als Partner aus."

Till Pleyer

Till Pleyer

Leiter Marketing
PROCAD GmbH & Co. KG

Herausforderung

Da die PROOM-Plattform bereits erfolgreich im Einsatz ist, war bei dem Rebrush des Designs ein Faktor von entscheidender Bedeutung: die bestehenden Anwender. Diese sollten auch nach dem Update weiterhin wie gewohnt mit PROOM arbeiten können. Der hieraus resultierende Spagat zwischen der Berücksichtigung bestehender Interaktionen und Strukturen sowie der Verbesserung der Usability stellte eine besondere Herausforderung dar.

Im zweiten Teil des Projekts, bei dem wir das System funktional erweiterten, war insbesondere die nahtlose Integration der Kommentarfunktion in das bestehende User Interface sowie in die Arbeitsabläufe der Nutzer essentiell.

Alle Neuerungen sollten außerdem dem hohen Anspruch des PROCAD-Kundenstamms gerecht werden.

Lösung

Aufgrund der langjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit PROCAD konnten unsere UX Designer ihre Kenntnisse über das bestehende System und dessen Anwender sowie ihre Erfahrung mit den spezifischen Gestaltungsrichtlinien optimal in das Design einfließen lassen.

Als Erweiterung der neu zu entwickelnden Funktionen gestalteten wir nicht nur einen Kommentarbereich, sondern konzipierten auch eine Downloadfunktion sowie die Möglichkeit, Nutzer per E-Mail über Kommentare oder Änderungen an Dokumenten zu informieren.

Die bestehenden Design-Richtlinien dienten dabei als Grundlage und wurden im Verlauf des Projekts um die neuen Konzepte ergänzt.

So sieht die finale Plattform aus

Video starten

Agiles Vorgehen

In einem Vor-Ort-Termin machten wir uns zunächst ein detailliertes Bild der Anforderungen. Während des Projektverlaufs standen wir auch weiter stets in engem Austausch mit PROCAD. Durch die flexible Zusammenarbeit und agile Herangehensweise konnten wir das Projekt schlank und effizient durchführen.

Das Redesign der Plattform zeichnet sich durch sein übersichtliches Layout aus. Große, von Ergosign gestaltete Icons sowie die einfach lesbare Slab-Serif-Schrift ermöglichen es allen Nutzern, sich schnell auf der Plattform zurechtzufinden und verleihen ihr zudem ein modernes Erscheinungsbild.

Über PROCAD GmbH & Co. KG

Die PROCAD GmbH & Co. KG ist Softwarehersteller von Plattform-Lösungen für die Digitalisierung des Mittelstandes im Bereich Product- and Document Lifecycle Management. Das Karlsruher Unternehmen ist seit 1985 am Markt und beschäftigt über 130 MitarbeiterInnen. Mehr als 600 technische Unternehmen setzen bereits erfolgreich auf PROCAD-Produkte für PDM, PLM und DMS.
PROCAD ist an 5 deutschen Standorten und international in BeNeLux, Italien, Österreich, USA und der Schweiz vertreten.

Weitere case studies

Key Technology

Key Technology

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk