Mixed Reality at your Fingertips

Experience Tomorrow’s Machine Operation with our Mixed Reality Showcase

At A Glance

Context Ergosign Labs
Sector MR for Industry
Project name Mixed Reality Showcase
CScope Multimodal Interaction, UX Design, Development
Technology Microsoft HoloLens, Unity, OPC UA

Our Idea

In order to test new interaction concepts and technologies and to make them tangible, we have developed a hands-on Smart Factory showcase with the HoloLens. This showcase was aimed to be applicable in the context of trade fairs as well as in any regular room to provide everyone with easy access to mixed reality.

Interview about the Mixed Reality Showcase

Start Video (German)

THE SETTING

The showcase represents a bottle production line consisting of a combination of physical hardware elements and projected holograms of the HoloLens: The production line itself is completely simulated by a 3D model and is only visible to the HoloLens wearer. A control panel, a material testing system (indicated by a luminous acrylic glass element), as well as an industrial traffic light, form the only physical components of the machine.

THE SCENARIO

In our scenario, the machine operator - the wearer of the HoloLens - is guided through a repair scenario. He must rectify a multi-stage malfunction unknown to him, in which both a faulty bottle must be classified and a production jam must be cleared. Detailed troubleshooting instructions are displayed directly and precisely on the machine's operating panel via the HoloLens. Additional information, such as the general status of the machine and the bottle inspection process, is displayed by the acrylic glass element and an industrial traffic light.

"The free interaction in the spatial context opens another exciting dimension for UX designers to support the user even better in his or her tasks."

Florian Schneider

Florian Schneider

Senior UX Designer, Solution Manager Industry
Ergosign GmbH

What exactly is Mixed Reality

Mixed Reality (MR) is characterized by the fact that the information displayed via the data glasses includes the real environment and not, as in Augmented Reality (AR), merely fades in. Holograms can thus be aligned relative to objects in the spatial context and do not orient themselves statically to the user's field of vision.

Advantages and Use Cases

In addition to being used for repair situations, the technology can also be used in industry for employee training, remote maintenance or machine conversions and retrofits. Interactive 3D models and holograms can also be used in other industries, such as architecture, medicine or the consumer market, to improve learning effects or create new viewing experiences.

Awards for our MR showcase

Award-winning

Our showcase convinced several times: both the jury of the INNOVATIONSPREIS-IT and the INDUSTRIEPREIS decorated it with the award "BEST OF 2018“.

We are proud of the awards and are delighted for our colleagues, who were able to establish technical know-how and to explore new forms of interaction in this exciting project.

More Case Studies

Siemens Healthineers: PLM-UX

Siemens Healthineers: PLM-UX

Lufthansa Technik

Lufthansa Technik

STILL GmbH

STILL GmbH

Mixed Reality hautnah erleben

Wir gestalten mit unserem Mixed-Reality-Showcase die Maschinenbedienung der Zukunft

Auf einen Blick

Kontext Ergosign Labs
Branche MR in der Industrie
Projektname Mixed-Reality-Showcase
Umfang Multimodal Interaction, UX Design, Development
Technologie Microsoft HoloLens, Unity, OPC UA

Unsere Idee

Um neuartige Interaktionskonzepte und Technologien zu testen sowie erlebbar zu machen, haben wir einen praxisnahen Smart-Factory-Showcase mit der HoloLens entwickelt. Dieser sollte sowohl im Messekontext als auch in alltäglichen Räumen einsetzbar sein und somit jedem einen einfachen Zugang zur Mixed Reality eröffnen.

Interview zum Mixed-Reality-Showcase

Video starten

DAS SETTING

Der Showcase repräsentiert eine Flaschenproduktionsanlage, die aus einer Kombination von physischen Hardware-Elementen und projizierten Hologrammen der HoloLens besteht: Die Produktionsstraße selbst wird komplett durch ein 3D-Modell simuliert und ist nur für den Träger der HoloLens sichtbar. Ein Bedienpanel, eine Materialprüfanlage – angedeutet durch ein leuchtendes Plexiglaselement – sowie eine Signalampel bilden die einzigen physischen Komponenten der Maschine.

DAS SZENARIO

In unserem Szenario wird der Maschinenbediener — also der Träger der HoloLens — durch ein Reparaturszenario geführt. Er muss einen ihm unbekannten, mehrstufigen Störfall beheben, bei dem sowohl eine fehlerhaft produzierte Flasche klassifiziert als auch ein Produktionsstau aufgelöst werden muss. Eine detaillierte Anleitung zur Fehlerbehebung wird ihm dabei über die HoloLens direkt und passgenau am Bedienpanel der Maschine angezeigt. Zusätzliche Informationen zum allgemeinen Status der Maschine und zum Flaschenprüfvorgang zeigen das Plexiglaselement sowie eine Industrieampel an.

"Die freie Interaktion im räumlichen Kontext eröffnet uns UX Designern eine weitere spannende Dimension, um den Anwender noch besser in seinen Aufgaben zu unterstützen."

Florian Schneider

Florian Schneider

Senior UX Designer, Solution Manager Industry
Ergosign GmbH

WAS IST MR GENAU?

Mixed Reality (MR) zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass die über die Datenbrille angezeigten Informationen die reale Umgebung mit einbeziehen und nicht, wie bei Augmented Reality (AR), lediglich eingeblendet werden. Dadurch können Hologramme relativ zu Objekten im räumlichen Kontext ausgerichtet werden und orientieren sich nicht statisch am Blickfeld des Nutzers.

VORTEILE UND ANWENDUNGEN

Neben dem Einsatz bei Reparaturen kann die Technologie in der Industrie beispielsweise für Mitarbeiterschulungen, Fernwartungen oder Maschinenumbauten und -umrüstungen genutzt werden. Und auch in anderen Branchen, wie der Architektur, der Medizin oder bei Consumer-Produkten ergeben sich durch interaktive 3D-Modelle und Hologramme zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, die Lernprozesse verbessern oder neue Betrachtungserlebnisse schaffen können.

Auszeichnungen des MR-Showcase

AUSGEZEICHNET

Unser Showcase überzeugt gleich mehrfach: sowohl die Jury des INNOVATIONSPREIS-IT als auch des INDUSTRIEPREIS zeichneten ihn mit dem Award „BEST OF 2018“ aus.

Wir sind stolz auf die Auszeichnungen und freuen uns für unsere Mitarbeiter, die bei diesem spannenden Projekt sowohl technisches Knowhow aufbauen als auch neue Formen der Interaktion erproben und experimentell umsetzen konnten.

Weitere case studies

Siemens Healthineers: PLM-UX

Siemens Healthineers: PLM-UX

Lufthansa Technik

Lufthansa Technik

STILL GmbH

STILL GmbH