Start video

Land survey with modern UX

Ergosign has been supporting the Leica Captivate formation process for many years and has developed a state-of-the-art innovative user experience.

At a glance

Customer Leica Geosystems
Sector Measurement instrument producer
Project Leica Captivate land survey software
Services UX Design, Icon Design, User Research

Our mission

The purpose of the project is creating a novel user experience for the field data collection. It was also important to include such conditions as changing the light quality or concrete reality conditions through the work circumstances of the device users.

UI on different Leica devices

"The feedback on the software so far is incredible – very, very positive. All people love the UI. Really great job!"

Alastair Green

Alastair Green

Director, Market Development, BU Surveying and Engineering
Leica Geosystems

Challenge

Leica Captivate had to feature a UI to be operated intuitively and mastered easily by users of any type. At the same time, complex graphs such as 3D models had to be created with ease.

Solution

Navigation through the program was enhanced by a more intuitive control system (more in section 'Touch & More'). Besides, the control system was individually adjusted to the device used. Nonetheless, the scalability aspect was regarded in the design to enable quick handling all devices by the users.

3D modles of the design of Leica Captivate

Touch & More

From the very first time, users can easily navigate through measurement jobs and programs per touch by simple wiping movements, as with a smartphone. In addition, Leica Captivate enables dedicated hardware controls, which, depending on the device, include a QWERTY keyboard plus a directional pad or just the directional pad alone.

3D Viewer

Not just see, but to also experience data – the motto applies, in particular, to the innovative 3D viewing. Digital images, scans of MultiStation and CAD data produce an interactive 3D model, which enables full quality control by the user afield.

More case studies

Key Technology

Key Technology

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Video starten

Landvermessung mit moderner UX

Ergosign begleitete den Entstehungsprozess von Leica Captivate über mehrere Jahre und gestaltete dabei eine hochmoderne, innovative User Experience.

Auf einen Blick

Kunde Leica Geosystems
Branche Vermessungswesen
Projekt Captivate Landvermessungssoftware
Services UX Design, Icon Design, User Research

Unsere Aufgabe

Das Ziel des Projekts bestand darin, ein neuartiges Benutzererlebnis für die Datenerfassung im Feld zu schaffen. Dabei war es essentiell, Bedingungen wie veränderte Lichtqualität oder Gegebenheiten durch die Arbeitsumstände der Gerätenutzer mit einzubeziehen.

UI auf verschiedenen Leica-Geräten

"The feedback on the software so far is incredible – very, very positive. All people love the UI. Really great job!"

Alastair Green

Alastair Green

Director, Market Development, BU Surveying and Engineering
Leica Geosystems

Herausforderung

Leica Captivate sollte sich durch ein intuitiv zu bedienendes UI auszeichnen, dessen Umgang schnell von allen Arten von Nutzern zu erlernen ist. Dabei müssen komplexe Sachverhalte, wie 3D-Modelle, einfach zu erstellen sein.

Lösung

Die Navigation durch das Programm wurde durch eine intuitivere Steuerung erweitert (mehr dazu im Absatz 'Touch & More'). Außerdem wurde die Steuerung individuell auf die zu nutzenden Geräte angepasst. Beim Design wurde trotz dessen die Skalierbarkeit beachtet, sodass die Nutzer mit allen Geräten schnell umgehen können.

3D Modelle mit dem Design von Leica Captivate

Touch & More

Mit simplen Wischbewegungen wie bei einem Smartphone können Anwender erstmalig einfach per Touch durch die Messjobs und Messprogramme navigieren. Leica Captivate ermöglicht zusätzlich eine dedizierte Hardware-Steuerung, die je nach Gerät aus einer QWERTY-Tastatur plus Steuerkreuz oder nur aus einem Steuerkreuz besteht.

3D Viewer

Daten nicht nur sehen, sondern erleben – das Leitmotto wird insbesondere durch innovative 3D-Ansichten getragen. Die digitalen Bilder, Scans der MultiStation und CAD-Daten ergeben ein interaktives 3D-Modell, das dem Anwender eine vollständige Qualitätskontrolle im Feld erlaubt.

Weitere case studies

Key Technology

Key Technology

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk