UX DESIGN FOR DRASTIC SIMPLIFICATION

Optimum applicability through simpler, reduced, and modern design language.

At a glance

Customer Key Technology
Sector Food Processing
Project VERYX – Sorting UI
Services UX Design, UX Development (Qt)

Our mission

Ergosign designed the user interface for the new "VERYX" digital sorting platform. Here, the emphasis is clearly on consistent streamlining of the use paradigms and a simple, reduced, and modern design language.

"Close collaboration of UX designers, UX developers and Key's project team enabled development of a modern and intuitive UI."

Samuel Knoch

Samuel Knoch

UX Designer
Ergosign GmbH

Challenge

Due to the tight time-scale of the project, a very agile approach to this project was only possible. Thus, both the creation of the design and implementation in QML were carried out partly in parallel with the development of the product itself.

Solution

Agile works usually present a huge challenge. However, numerous advantages such as short paths and quick decision processes should be effectively used. To benefit from these advantages in parallel to development, a technology is required, which is not only powerful, but also lightweight and flexible. Here, a perfect choice was Qt with QML.

QML, Styling, Layout, Qt

Intuitive Use

Ergosign was focused on finding, through drastic simplification, a reduced and modern design language to make the use by an untrained user as intuitive as possible. Due to QML we were able - despite the tight timeline - to support many processes with low-key animations, thus enhancing both usability and the "joy of use".

About Key Technology

Key Technology is a world leader in the food processing technology. Key company's equipment for transport, processing and sorting of (primarily) foodstuffs are used by 80% of the global top 20 of the food processing enterprises.

Key UI Screens

More case studies

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk

UX Design zur Radikal­VEREINFACHUNG

Mit einfacher, reduzierter und moderner Gestaltungssprache zur optimalen Anwendbarkeit.

Auf einen Blick

Kunde Key Technology
Branche Lebensmittelverarbeitung
Projekt VERYX – Sorting UI
Services UX Design, UX Development (Qt)

Unsere Aufgabe

Ergosign gestaltete für die neue digitale Sortier-Plattform "VERYX" das User Interface. Der klare Schwerpunkt lag dabei auf der konsequenten Vereinfachung von Bedienparadigmen und einer einfachen, reduzierten und modernen Gestaltungssprache.

"Die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen UX Designern, UX Developern und dem Key Projektteam ermöglichte es, in kurzer Zeit ein modernes und intuitiv nutzbares UI zu entwickeln."

Samuel Knoch

Samuel Knoch

UX Designer
Ergosign GmbH

Herausforderung

Aufgrund des engen zeitlichen Projektrahmens kam für dieses Projekt nur ein sehr agiles Vorgehen in Frage. Dadurch erfolgte sowohl die Ausgestaltung des Designs als auch die Implementierung in QML teilweise parallel zur Entwicklung des eigentlichen Produktes.

Lösung

Agiles Arbeiten stellt meist eine große Herausforderung dar. Die zahlreichen Vorteile, wie kurze Wege und schnelle Entscheidungsprozesse, gilt es jedoch effektiv zu nutzen. Um von diesen Vorzügen parallel zur Entwicklung zu profitieren, benötigt man eine Technologie, die nicht nur mächtig, sondern auch leichtgewichtig und flexibel ist. Hier war Qt mit QML die perfekte Wahl.

QML, Styling, Layout, Qt

Intuitive Bedienung

Ergosign legte den Fokus auf die Findung einer reduzierten und modernen Gestaltungssprache, um durch eine radikale Vereinfachung die Bedienbarkeit für ungelernte Anwender möglichst intuitiv zu gestalten. Dank QML gelang es uns viele Vorgänge mit dezenten Animationen zu unterstützen. Davon profitiert nicht nur die Usability sondern auch die "joy of use".

Über Key technology

Key Technology ist weltweit führend in der Lebensmittel-Verarbeitungstechnologie. Als Hersteller für Maschinen zur Förderung, Verarbeitung und Sortierung von (hauptsächlich) Nahrungsmitteln kommen Key-Maschinen bei 80 % der weltweiten Top 20 der lebensmittelverarbeitenden Unternehmen zum Einsatz.

Key UI Screens

Weitere case studies

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk