Start Video

Industry 4.0 meets UX Design

Positive user experience in the industrial environment through the user-centered design.

At a glance

Customer GROB Group
Sector Mechanical engineering
Project Rotary pallet storage system
Services User research, UX Design, Style Guide

Our mission

For GROB, Ergosign has designed a user interface, which optimally supports skilled and unskilled workers. In doing so, the system was deliberately designed so that the machine status is transparent at any time. Via the master computer, the skilled worker can automatically initiate transport orders and suggest a work sequence for the unskilled workers. A high user acceptance was created because an employee can take control and manually intervene at any time.

"By working together with Ergosign, we have managed to create a fantastic user experience for operating our pallet storage system."

Michael Keidler

Michael Keidler

Project Manager Software
GROB Group

Challenge

Versatility of the new pallet round storage system requires rethinking by the participating workers. The complexity increases, as a great number of the most different pallets circulate at the same time. Besides, an increased number of "unmanned" tasks are taken over by machines. The connection between man and machine must be therefore optimally interplayed, which can only be ensured by comprehensive user experience.

Solution

Clear design focused on the essentials supported with modern animations and direct touch interaction ensure efficient exercising tasks by the user, with joy and without extensive training.

GROB mobile Screens

Analysis & Prototyping

Knowledge about the users and usage context collected in the framework of the context interview was directly introduced in the wireframes of the initial concept. Through validation of the UI prototype, the design was defined in detail and transferred into a style guide. Thus, the basis for implementation of further applications was created.

About GROB

GROB is a family business employing more than 5,200 employees worldwide. The production plant manufactures state-of-the-art equipment for the mechanical engineering and automotive industry. Opting for high innovativeness and quality, GROB is a forerunner of the Industry 4.0 in Germany.

More case studies

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Video starten

Industrie 4.0 meets UX Design

Mit benutzerzentriertem Design zur positiven User Experience im industriellen Umfeld.

Auf einen Blick

Kunde GROB-Gruppe
Branche Industry
Projekt UX Design Plattenrundspeicher PSS-R
Services User Research, UX Design, Style Guide

Unsere Aufgabe

Ergosign hat für GROB eine Benutzeroberfläche entworfen, die den Fach- und Hilfsarbeiter unterstützen. Das System ist dabei bewusst so gestaltet, dass der Machinenstatus jederzeit transparent ist. Über den Leitrechner kann der Facharbeiter automatisch Transportaufträge anstoßen und dem Hilfsarbeiter eine Arbeitsreihenfolge vorschlagen. Der Bediener kann jederzeit die Kontrolle übernehmen und manuell eingreifen - damit wurde eine hohe Nutzerakzeptanz geschaffen.

"Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Ergosign ist es uns gelungen, eine herausragende User Experience für die Bedienung unseres Palettenrundspeichers zu schaffen."

Michael Keidler

Michael Keidler

Projektleiter Software
GROB-Gruppe

Herausforderung

Die Variabilität des neuen Plattenrundspeichersystems bedingt ein Umdenken bei den beteiligten Arbeitern. Die Komplexität wird höher, da eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Platten gleichzeitig im Umlauf ist. Außerdem gibt es mehr "unbemannte" Aufgaben, die durch Maschinen übernommen werden. Die Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Maschine muss daher optimal zusammenspielen, was nur durch umfassende User Experience sichergestellt werden kann.

Lösung

Das übersichtliche, aufs Wesentliche fokussierte Design kombiniert mit modernen Animationen und direkter Touch-Interaktion sorgen dafür, dass der Bediener seine Arbeit ohne aufwändige Schulung effizient und mit Freude erledigen kann.

GROB mobile Screens

Analyse & Prototyping

Im Rahmen von Kontextinterviews haben wir Erkenntnisse über die Nutzer und den Nutzungskontext gesammelt und direkt in die Wireframes des Erstkonzepts einfließen lassen. Durch Validierung des UI-Prototyps wurde das Design ausdefiniert und in einen Styleguide überführt. So wurde die Grundlage für die Umsetzung weiterer Applikationen geschaffen.

Über GROB

GROB ist ein Familienunternehmen, welches weltweit über 5.200 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt. In den Werken werden modernste Anlagen für den Maschinenbausektor und die Automobilindustrie gefertigt. Dabei setzt GROB auf hohe Innovationskraft und Qualität und ist ein Vorreiter der Industrie 4.0 in Deutschland.

Weitere case studies

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk