Start Video

Collaborative UX Design from the Sky to the Hangar

AVIATAR - an innovative and holistic platform for the whole aviation industry

At a glance

Customer Lufthansa Technik AG
Sector Aircraft maintenance
Project AVIATAR
Services Context Analysis, Testing, UX Strategy, UX design, Workshops
Devices Desktop, Tablet, Smartphone

OUR MISSION

Ergosign joined the Lufthansa Technik AG team to work on UX strategy and UX design and actively supported the workflow towards lean UX. The aim behind the AVIATAR platform is to make data for fleet optimization and predictive maintenance scenarios as usable as possible. Not just for their own fleet, but also as a service for all airlines worldwide. AVIATAR can be configured to suit the individual customer and can be made up of apps to suit the fleet and its needs. Further development will take place with Ergosign.

"With AVIATAR, we wanted to go one step further and opted for radical user orientation. Together with Ergosign, we successfully introduced the collaborative UX process."

Johannes Hansen

Johannes Hansen

Senior Director Application Development & User Experience AVIATAR
Lufthansa Technik AG

CHALLENGE

AVIATAR is a very complex application that requires intense collaboration with aviation specialists. Ergosign had to integrate into the on-site team 100%. Establishing the new procedure with collaborative design and lean UX forms the foundations for efficiently implementing the AVIATAR vision. The management set the vision for the project – the autonomous teams were largely responsible for the implementation.s The new approach was established together with Ergosign. It is now enthusiastically put into practice on a daily basis, and the team has really internalized it.

COLLABORATIVE & LEAN

The initial ideas are generated using various creative methods and then realized in sprints in the form of prototypes and MVPs (minimum viable product). The MVPs were tested and validated with customers and external colleagues. Implementation took part in cross-functional feature teams. Each closed team was fully able to act independently and made up of Product Owners, Developers and Designers. The procedure and even the aims were defined independently by each team. Lufthansa Technik’s willingness to adapt to these new approaches was intrinsic to the success of the project.

LHT_3Screens-Desktop

STRONGEST TOGETHER

Lufthansa Technik and Ergosign have been successfully working together for 10 years. The involvement of Ergosign at the beginning of the project meant immense benefits for overall user experience. Close collaboration on site with the various perspectives and skills of different team members is vital at all times. Direct user feedback during the design process provided valuable input for ongoing development.

About LUFTHANSA TECHNIK

Based in Hamburg, Lufthansa Technik AG operates 50 sites worldwide and provides maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) services for aircraft. It is a subsidiary wholly owned by the parent company Deutsche Lufthansa AG. AVIATAR is not just a use case for internal application within the Lufthansa Group, rather has been designed as an open platform available as a product to the whole aviation industry.

LHT_3Screens-Desktop

AVIATAR - Join the future.

Start video

Weitere case studies

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Video starten

Collaboratives UX Design vom Himmel bis in den Hangar

AVIATAR - eine innovative und ganzheitliche Plattform für die gesamte Luftfahrtindustrie

Auf einen Blick

Kunde Lufthansa Technik AG
Branche Luftfahrzeuginstandhaltung
Projekt AVIATAR
Services Kontextanalyse, Testing, UX Strategy, UX Design, Workshops
Devices Desktop, Tablet, Smartphone

Unsere Aufgabe

Ergosign hat das Team der Lufthansa Technik AG im Bereich UX Strategy und UX Design ergänzt und aktiv den Workflow hin zur Lean UX unterstützt. Die AVIATAR-Plattform hat zum Ziel, Daten für Flottenoptimierung und Predictive Maintenance-Szenarien optimal nutzbar zu machen. Nicht nur für die eigene Flotte, sondern als Service für alle Airlines weltweit. AVIATAR ist kundenspezifisch konfigurierbar und kann auf Basis von Apps nach Bedarf und Flotte zusammengestellt werden. Es findet eine stetige Weiterentwicklung zusammen mit Ergosign statt.

"Im AVIATAR wollten wir noch einen Schritt weiter gehen und haben eine radikale Nutzerzentrierung ausgerufen. Gemeinsam mit Ergosign haben wir erfolgreich den Collaborative UX Prozess eingeführt."

Johannes Hansen

Johannes Hansen

Senior Director Application Development & User Experience AVIATAR
Lufthansa Technik AG

HERAUSFORDERUNG

AVIATAR ist eine sehr komplexe Anwendung, die einen intensiven Abstimmung mit den Luftfahrt-Spezialisten bedarf. Ergosign arbeitet vor Ort und zusammen mit dem AVIATAR Team. Die Etablierung der neuen Arbeitsweise mit Collaborative Design und Lean UX ist die Basis für eine effiziente Umsetzung der Vision des AVIATAR. Die Vision für das Projekt wurde dabei vom Management vorgegeben - die Umsetzung lag zu großen Teilen in den autonomen Teams. Dazu wurde gemeinsam mit Ergosign die neue Arbeitsweise etabliert. Diese wird täglich mit Freude gelebt und ist in den Teams tief verinnerlicht.

COLLABORATIVE & LEAN

Mit unterschiedlichen Kreativmethoden werden erste Ideen generiert, die in Sprints zu Prototypen und MVPs (Minimum Viable Product) umgesetzt werden. Mit Kunden und externen Kollegen werden die MVPs getestet und validiert. Die Umsetzung erfolgt in crossfunktionalen Featureteams. Jedes Team setzt sich zusammen aus Product Owner, Entwickler und Designer, ist in sich geschlossen und voll handlungsfähig. Die Arbeitsweise wird von jedem Team dabei selbst bestimmt und sogar die Arbeitsziele werden eigenverantwortlich entschieden. Die Bereitschaft und der Willen von Lufthansa Technik, sich an diese neue Arbeitsweise anzupassen, ist maßgeblich für den Erfolg des Projekts.

LHT_3Screens-Desktop

ZUSAMMEN AM STÄRKSTEN

Lufthansa Technik und Ergosign arbeiten bereits seit 10 Jahren erfolgreich zusammen. Die Einbeziehung von Ergosign bereits zum initialen Projektstart brachte immense Vorteil für die gesamte User Experience. Die enge Zusammenarbeit vor Ort mit den unterschiedlichen Sichtweisen und Skills der Teammitglieder ist zu jeder Zeit förderlich. Auch das direkte Feedback der Nutzer während des Designprozesses liefert wertvollen Input für die stetige Weiterentwicklung.

ÜBER LUFTHANSA TECHNIK

Die Lufthansa Technik AG mit ihrer Basis in Hamburg und an 50 Standorten weltweit ist der führende Anbieter für MRO-Dienstleistungen für Flugzeuge, das heißt die Wartung, Reparatur und Überholung. Sie ist eine 100%ige Tochter des Mutterkonzerns Deutsche Lufthansa AG. AVIATAR richtet sich als Produkt an Airlines weltweit und ist in der Anwendung nicht auf die Flotten der Lufthansa Group beschränkt. AVIATAR ist daher bewusst als neutrale, offene und modulare Plattform angelegt.

LHT_3Screens-Desktop

AVIATAR - Join the future.

Video starten

Weitere case studies

Leica Geosystems

Leica Geosystems

Quiri by Ergosign

Quiri by Ergosign

Saarländischer Rundfunk

Saarländischer Rundfunk